Would you like to nominate a player?

Welcome to the online home of the Connolly Cup. On this site you will find information about the past, present, and future. So, take some time, read about who we are, see who won the award in past years, and let us know about the great player you saw last weekend…


2016 Connolly Cup Award Winner:
Isaiah McDuffie
The third time is the charm for Bennett’s Isaiah McDuffie. The senior running back took home the 2016 Connolly Cup after being named a finalist each of the past three years. Leading the Tigers to the Class A championship with 1,531 rushing yards and 21 touchdowns, the versatile back also contributed on defense with 111 tackles and a pick six in a successful senior season.

About Our Award

Started in 1972 by the Riverside Athletic Club, the goal of our award is to recognize outstanding varsity football players from over 80 schools in Western New York State.

During the season our group scouts student athletes looking for outstanding performances on a weekly basis. The players are judged on a number of factors including, strength of opposition, sportsmanship, athletic ability, team play, and work ethic. Following the final game of the season, discussion and game tape is used to narrow our list of outstanding performers to the top ten.

The ten finalists are broken down using a secret ballot and grading system to determine the one final winner. The finalists are honored at a press conference and luncheon.